Member Area Login

If this is the first time you are logging into the new ASA website, please select Get a new password below to be sent a link to set your password to enter the new system


The ASA is governed by a constitution, by-laws and a governance charter.  The ASA also requires its members to adhere to a Code of Conduct and Standards of Practice.

Strategic intent

The ASA's Strategic Intent 2018–2020 sets a clear direction for the Association's future. It outlines the work we will undertake to support the sonography profession and ensure the highest possible professional standards.

Our purpose:

To lead the sonography profession in delivering excellence in ultrasound for the community.

Our vision:

To ensure a sonographer is known as the expert in ultrasound across the community.

Our goals:

  • Promote and advance the sonography profession
  • Enhance the quality and standards of ultrasound
  • Provide and support the highest quality professional development and research
  • Deliver exceptional member value and organisational excellence.

ASA Board governance

The ASA is governed by a Board of Directors in accordance with the association's constitution, by-laws and Board's Governance Charter. The Board is supported by two formal sub-committees:

  • Governance Committee
  • Finance and Risk Committee.

The ASA's Board of Directors consists of:

  • Up to seven member Directors who are elected by members
  • Three Non-Executive Directors with complementary skill sets who are appointed by the Board.

The Board of Directors also appoints the President and Vice-President. Director terms are for three years, with a maximum of three successive terms.

2019 – present    Ian Schroen
2017– 2019        Jennifer Alphonse
2015–2017         Tony Forshaw
2014–2015         Ann Quinton
2012–2014         Cain Brockley
2009–2012         Faye Temple
2006–2009         Andrew Wilmot
2003–2006         Robyn Tantau
2002–2003         Cara Kirsten
2001–2002         Rowan Lambert
2000–2001         Greg Lammers
1998–2000         Jenny Parkes
1996–1998         Rob McGregor
1992–1996         Andrew Martin

Our platinum partners
Canon Medical
GE Healthcare
Siemens Healthineers